Pennyrile Area Development District - 48th Annual Dinner Meeting

​The Pennyrile Area Development District (PADD) will hold its 48th Annual Dinner Meeting on June 12th at the James E. Bruce Convention Center in Hopkinsville, Kentucky. Registration begins at 5:30 p.m. with dinner at 6:00 p.m. CDT.

The annual event is sponsored by Planters Bank of Hopkinsville and gives all local officials, legislators, business and civic leaders, and others from throughout the Pennyrile the opportunity to celebrate the year’s activities and accomplishments. As a service organization, PADD has provided 48 years of leadership to the Pennyrile region providing the highest quality of professional planning, development, and implementation services in the areas of community and economic development, workforce, transportation, social services and public administration.

Special service awards will be presented to Board and Staff, along with the 2017 W. W. “Bill” Bryan Memorial Award. The W.W. “Bill” Bryan Award is in honor of the first PADD Board Chairman, W. W. Bill Bryan, who was instrumental in the formation of PADD in the 1960’s. This special award is presented each year to an individual or group of individuals who have made outstanding contributions and serve as great examples of the regional cooperation and leadership in various exemplary ways.

Harpist Carolyn Milam will provide music during the evening.

Our guest speaker for the event will be Ms. Vallie Smith Collins, a passenger on US Airways Flight 1549 that landed in New York’s Hudson River on January 15, 2009. Vallie will share the details of her experience during the flight and rescue of the event that has become known as the ‘Miracle on the Hudson’. In addition, she will share key learnings from the experience that will hopefully inspire and motivate all to treasure each and each day because ‘every day is a lucky day’!

PADD is one of fifteen Area Development Districts in Kentucky and is the primary regional planning and development agency for the nine county area of: Caldwell, Christian, Crittenden, Hopkins, Livingston, Lyon, Muhlenberg, Todd and Trigg. The 39 member Board of Directors is currently chaired by Ms. Lori Harper, Citizen Member for Christian County.

For more information or to RSVP, contact Cheri Farmer at 270-886-9484 or via email at [email protected] by May 26th.